Letting Sleeping Dogs Lie in Your Bed Can Kill You

 A new study coming out in a CDC publication has researchers recommending pet’s sleep in their own beds, not ours!

“We wanted to raise the attention of people, as sleeping with a pet is becoming quite common, and there are risks associated with it, even if it is not very frequent,” said Dr. Bruno Chomel, a professor at the University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine and co- author of the piece.  There have been documented cases of the transmission of meningitis, septic shock and the plague!

Now I have been kissing and hugging and sharing my bed with dogs for over 30 years and so far so good. Of course there are risks. There are risks to EVERYTHING these days and in my house, the pros of snuggling with my precious LolaBelle and Abigail far outweigh the risks in my opinion.

But it IS an interesting read so head on over to AOL News for the entire piece! Read more here……

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lee Price
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 04:33:53

    Well, I agree with Lisa, I’ve been around dogs my entire life an hugged, kissed and slept with them. As a kid I think even ate from the dogs bowl. Also made mud pies and ate them. I’m 62 and still kicking, at least so far. I love snuggling with our cuddle bug, Jamie. Thanks for sharing Lisa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

