R.I.P. Gidget Gormley

LolaBelle’s is sorry to report the passing of the famous Gidget Gormley, the Yorkie known most recently for her appearance in the Sex and the City films. I love Sex and the City and I really enjoyed the first film. Never saw the 2nd and reviews were bad so I may skip it….but this dog…..was too hilarious!

She became Samantha’s canine companion after their mutual bond of sexual frustration! She was comedy GOLD humping random items like pillows and such……and SATC fans everywhere relished the addition of a “purse pup” so popular in todays NYC. And it touched the heart of dog lovers to see Samantha, having survived a bout with cancer,  find a “kindred spirit” in this adorable pooch….and she played the role PERFECTLY.

Gidget enjoyed her life until the ripe old age of 16. Her owner posted on her blog:

Her little canine celebrity status help raise money for a number of charities. As a Melanoma survivor she was the dog of hope for “Tails of Hope” and was the canine host of a number of pet charities including Friends of Snuffy. What this really means is… this little creature inspired me to do good things. She helped me become a better person. I’ve had her since she was 9 weeks old and she’s been my mute little sounding board for 16 years. We’ve been though great family joy and tragedy, a number of boyfriends , one husband, apartments on both coasts, 2 houses and 3 cars. We cuddled in my NYC apartment on 9/11, and had wonderful holidays. She has been by my side for the ups and downs of my career. Her presence gave me emotional support during a couple tours of unemployment and paid some of the bills with her acting gigs. There are so many other big events and silly things that will always remind me of her. She’s a brat but she will always be my brat. I love her and will miss her.

Take comfort Ms. Gormley. Your sweet Gidget will be waiting, ever faithfully, at the gates of heaven for your return!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary gormley
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 02:45:53

    thank you for your kind words…. very thoughtful
    xo mary

    Reply

    • LolaBelle's Treats
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 02:59:05

      Oh Mary, we are so sorry for your loss. I loved the quote from you on how special Gidget was and how she had seen you through so many ups and downs in your life. I watched several of the videos on YouTube and Gidget was just adorable! Thank you for sharing her with all of us!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

